Potato Leek Kale Soup

I love soup. This winter has been really mild for us and I have missed out on making a few big pots of soup because it just hasn’t been cold enough. I’ve really been craving some potato soup so I bought a few of the ingredients on Sunday and planned to make it before our House Church on Wednesday. 

Sidebar– Our church meets on Sunday’s corporately and then in people’s homes in small groups on Wednesdays. It’s the model of the early church and we absolutely love the community it brings.  

 Anyway, soup sounded like the perfect meal for an easy, quick cleanup. 

I have two recipes I combined to result in my own mixup and the fam loved it. The entire pot was empty after several came back for seconds. 

I had to share with you. Let me know if you make it! 

  Potato Kale Leek Soup
3 stalks of leeks (white parts only)

2 tbs butter

2 cups kale

6 russet potatos 

2 cloves garlic

8 oz sour cream

2 boxes chicken broth

3 cups water

Salt and pepper

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

1 cup cheddar cheese

1/2 cup mozzarella cheese

Melt butter in pan. Slice leeks and sauté with garlic in melted butter until softened. Peel potatos and slice into discs. Add chicken broth , potatos and water to large pot and bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer until softened, about 15-25 minutes.

Remove kale from stalk and roughly chop. Add to soup along with leeks, sour cream, cheeses, salt and pepper to taste. Use a potato masher to combine mixture. Simmer for 5 minutes.  Stir and serve. 

(This would also be great with ground Italian sausage. )

Thank you Kayla @Pregnancyperfect for the recipe inspiration. 

Leave a comment